“FIREBUG”

Playing with Matches, a girl can get burned

Line from Song : Matchmaker, Fiddler on the Roof

Playing with Matches

Playing with Matches
photo credit: ViaMoi via photopin cc

 

It starts small, just a spark, a pretty orange spark. It’s easy to control and in some ways, the feeling is just right. Hold onto it too long and it will burn you, but it’s still small enough that you can put it out. For most people, that small spark is just enough to scare them.. They quickly put it out, and move on. But for me.. I play with the spark.. I harbor it, I try to keep it small..

Bonfire at Huntington Beach - 2011  Taken by : ME!!!

Bonfire at Huntington Beach – 2011
Taken by : ME!!!

But if you know anything about fire, it can never stay small, unless you can properly contain it, all it can do is grow. This tiny spark grows into a nice small Fire ( kind of like a bon fire). If you grow it right and contain it, it can be the perfect little fire.. if properly taken care and if precautions are made, it can provide you with warmth, (and guess what? you can even roast a nice s’more on it). But stick your hand in that fire, stir it up and its going to burn you.. And if you’re me.. You keep playing with the fire until you do get burned.

photo credit: arbyreed via photopin cc

photo credit: arbyreed via photopin cc

So what happens to fire if you do not contain, you don’t put it out… you ignore it? It can/will explode in your face. It will rage on and can become quite dangerous. You can’t touch it and it is much harder to control, in fact you alone can not control it. YOU WILL GET BURNED.

And some how.. I light the match and never can control it.. I never can just let it be that simple little spark.. I let it fester, I let it burn, I let it hurt and control me. It always starts small, and in the end I always allow the spark, the small flame to fester, I let it hurt me more and more and eventually it explodes. That spark turns into a raging wildfire and almost nothing stops it. Some people think that I enjoy it. But realistically it scares me, it hurts me and those around me, and I have no clue how to stop the wildfire that has grown from one little spark.

Ok.. So before the police show up at my doorstep and arrest me for something that I really did not do… The fire I am referring to is within. Just like a real fire, ANGER is the match I strike. I let ANGER get the best of me and in the long run, those around me are hurt by that small match I started, that “I allowed” to get out of control. I always envy those who can control it, and can put the “fire” out right away.. But unfortunately that’s not me… You would think I would have learned a long time ago that if you “ignore” the flame it does not go away, it gets worse and by the time it finally “explodes” you might not know the real reason that “Match” was lite.

photo credit: Ed Yourdon via photopin cc

photo credit: Ed Yourdon via photopin cc

So just like always, I think I will sit here and “POUT” in the corner, and keep “Playing with matches”. Who knows.. maybe one of these days.. “This girl will not get burned”

YOUR TURN TO THINK:

1. How do you control the “Spark”?

2. Have you ever been “burned”? Share your story.. If you chose.

Feel free to speak your mind!!!

